Food forest 2016
food forest, Life Skills, Permaculture

When I have failed, I stopped trying…

Over six years ago I decided I was going to do some landscaping at my new home. I had never heard of permaculture design nor did I know just how awful my soil was at the time. It turns out a sandy hill void of topsoil comes with challenges. Adding to those challenges was the high acidity from all the surrounding pine trees that are a staple in southern monoculture forestry land. So without much observation I dug six holes and filled them using four encore azaleas and two peach trees. 

The peach trees I planted almost immediately died regardless of the care I gave. By the next year all but two of the azaleas followed suit and decided not to live. With such a low return on investment I stopped planting. I stopped trying to grow. It did not make sense to buy more plants just to watch them die. Looking back I can see how this was a true failure. My dream of a nice yard was done. It would take to much time, energy, and money to keep going without guarantee of success. Going fishing and having a good time became the path. Counting the cost made me quit something that I truly felt connected to. 

As time went on my health went with it. High blood pressure, elevated cholesterol, and lack of energy had taken hold. It was at that point I knew things had to change. I began to diet and exercise regularly with a focus on organic fruits and vegetables.  This helped tremendously but I was not satisfied. The more I researched the more I realized that the whole system was rigid. So with this new revelation I began to garden. Working on that garden made gave me the sense of accomplishment I had been longing for. Growing my food became my passion.

As I went deeper into growing the best food I kept coming across one word. There had to be something to this for so many to want to share it. I had found the word permaculture. The idea of making the problem the solution just made sense to me and captured my focus. Applying this new way of thinking to my life and plantings began to close the loop of my well being. Now I spend a lot of time, energy, and money creating great soil. I no longer see it as a liability but rather as a priceless asset. 

3 thoughts on “When I have failed, I stopped trying…”

Leave a Reply

